Rutherford Historic Narratives: The Woman’s Club of Rutherford traces its history to the late 19th century, a time when Rutherford was very different. Born during the era when the granting of women’s suffrage was still in doubt, the Club played an important role in the founding of the Rutherford Free Public Library, as well as the creation of the iconic Lincoln Park in downtown Rutherford. The Club today focuses on issues such as homelessness and hunger. It is also preserving its historic clubhouse, which is on the National Register of Historic Places, having originally been the carriage house of Iviswold (known locally as “the Castle”), a grand estate built in 1869 and now the administrative building for Felician University.
Video created by the Rutherford Civil Rights Commission, and made possible thanks to a generous grant from the Bergen County Division of Cultural & Historic Affairs.